About


INTENTION
Every spring, BERLIN DESIGN WEEK presents the latest design trends and approaches that allow us to shape and prepare for the future. Design is seen as a response to societal and ecological changes, which serves to highlight its vital role in managing the greatest challenges we currently face. The event is centred around promoting experimental projects that connect the fields of research, industry, and business with a range of design disciplines.

CONTEXT
Berlin has always been an environment where, in addition to the latest trends, revolutionary ideas, movements and innovations can emerge and flourish. BNDNWK taps into this potential, establishes an international network, and offers a platform to showcase the future of design: from grassroots movements all the way to research and scientific findings in the field of design. Within this context, BNDNWK discusses intelligent cities, digitisation and artificial intelligence, new materials and concepts. The targeted positioning of different fields and industries appeals to both specialists and design lovers alike, which seeks answers to socially relevant questions such as what is design today, what does design do for us and what does it prevent.

PARTICIPANTS
BNDNWK participants include Berlin- & Germany-based as well as international designers, studios, cultural institutions, universities and companies that present their projects as well as their development and production processes all under the umbrella of BNDNWK. Their areas of activity encompass a vast range of design fields from industrial and communication design to textile and material design all the way to UX and UI design, sound design, design research, social design, design thinking, and eco design.

FORMAT
Participants offer a look at their work in the form of exhibitions, talks, panels, presentations, and interactive projects and tours. Equal focus is given to encouraging in-depth exchange between up-and-coming designers, established names, suppliers, producers, and commercial enterprises as it is to establishing a network between the various creative disciplines.

LOCATION
BNDNWK’s curated schedule of events takes place over 11 days at different locations across Berlin. BNDNWK 2019 included 40 different locations and 90 German and international participants.

Find out more about BNDNWK, its partners and participants: Sign up to receive our newsletter or follow us on Facebook and Instagram.

About


INTENTION
Jedes Jahr im Frühling präsentiert die BERLIN DESIGN WEEK neue Denk- und Designansätze, die unsere Zukunft vordenken und gestalten. Design wird dabei als Respons auf gesellschaftliche und ökologische Veränderungen betrachtet und damit seine tragende Rolle in der Bewältigung der großen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit unterstrichen. Im Mittelpunkt steht so die Förderung experimenteller Projekte, die Forschung, Industrie und Wirtschaft mit diversen gestalterischen Disziplinen verknüpfen.

KONTEXT
Berlin ist seit jeher ein Experimentierfeld, auf dem neben bestehenden Trends revolutionäre Ideen, Strömungen und Innovationen entstehen und diskutiert werden. Die BNDNWK bündelt diese Potenziale, vernetzt sie international und bietet ein Podium, um über Design der nächsten Generation zu diskutieren: von Graswurzelbewegungen bis hin zu wissenschaftlichen und Forschungsergebnissen im Designbereich. In diesem Kontext spricht die BNDNWK über intelligente Städte, Digitalisierung und künstliche Intelligenz, neue Materialien und Konzepte. Die gezielte Positionierung von Fachbereichen spricht dabei ein Fach- sowie auch designinteressiertes Publikum an, welches im Design Antworten auf gesellschaftlich relevante Fragen sucht wie z.B. was ist Design heute, was tut Design für uns und was verhindert es.

TEILNEHMER/INNEN
TeilnehmerInnen der BNDNWK sind Berliner, nationale und internationale DesignerInnen, Studios, Kultureinrichtungen, Universitäten und Unternehmen, die unter dem Dach der BNDNWK ihre Projekte sowie Entstehungs- und Produktionsprozesse präsentieren. Ihre Arbeitsbereiche umfassen unterschiedliche Designfelder von Industrial Design, Kommunikationsdesign, über Textil- & Material-Design bis hin zu UX & UI Design, Sound Design, Design Research, Social Design, Design Thinking oder Eco Design.

FORMATE
In Formaten wie Ausstellungen, Talks, Panels, Präsentationen, partizipativen Projekten und Führungen geben TeilnehmerInnen Einblicke in ihre Arbeit. Der intensive Austausch zwischen Designnachwuchs, Etablierten, ZulieferInnen, ProduzentInnen und Wirtschaftsunternehmen wird ebenso gezielt gefördert wie die Vermittlung zwischen den verschiedenen Kreativdisziplinen.

ORT
Das kuratierte Programm der BNDNWK findet an elf Tagen an unterschiedlichen Orten Berlins statt. 40 verschiedene austragende Orte und 90 nationale und internationale TeilnehmerInnen waren bei der BNDNWK 2019 dabei.

Erfahren Sie mehr zu zu Formaten, PartnerInnen und TeilnehmerInnen der BERLIN DESIGN WEEK: Melden Sie sich für unseren Newsletter an oder folgen Sie uns auf Facebook und Instagram.