OH-LICHT FOR HVILA EDITIONS
MEET THE MAKERS AT IVORY EXHIBITION

Meet Berlin based Korean artist Setbyol Oh and watch how she creates her lamps using fine wicker and mulberry paper! Very thin sheets of silk paper are individually pleated and then turned into a leaf. Hundreds of these single leaves, attached to another, create a whole organic shape. Experience sophisticated craftsmanship and find out about the artist’s interpretation of Korean tradition within European culture.

The first edition of the light object “Way home” is a 6 meter long tube made of mulberry paper and wicker, in which LED lights are installed. About 1500 white leaves are glued onto the surface. For Setbyol Oh the light object symbolizes a path that shows where she comes from and where she is going. The path is variable and can be put in any shape or simply be laid down straight.

“Way home” is part of the IVORY exhibition, hosted by design gallery hvíla editions. Twelve local and international makers present limited edition pieces, each with its own creation story. Founder Anita Hansen curated the collection to celebrate ancient craft techniques, envisioned with a contemporary and artistic sensibility. The objects are meant to surprise people, and show how traditions can be re-imagined to create something new and unexpected.

Designers on show: Hana Karim (SL), hettler.tüllmann (D+US), Mapico (UA), nojin (D), nomad (D), oh-licht (D), Riccardo Masini (IT), Rita in Palma (D), Robert George (UK), Sasson Raifailov (US), Steven Haulenbeek (US), Veronika Beckh (D)


hvíla editions
mail@hvilaeditions.com

Location:

notre goût Konzeptgalerie Berlin
Bernauer Straße 8d
(access through Strelitzer Strasse 53)
10115 Berlin
When:
14/05/2022
14:00 —
16:00
Scroll up Drag View

OH-LICHT FOR HVILA EDITIONS
MEET THE MAKERS AT IVORY EXHIBITION

Triff die in Berlin lebende koreanische Künstlerin Setbyol Oh und beobachte sie dabei, wie sie ihre Leuchten aus feinem Peddigrohr und Maulbeerpapier herstellt! Dünne Blätter aus Seidenpapier werden einzeln gefaltet, dann zu einem Blatt gedreht und schliesslich zu Hunderten aneinandergereiht. Es entsteht eine organische Form. Erfahre, wie die Künstlerin in ihrem anspruchsvollen Handwerk koreanische Tradition mit europäischer Kultur verbindet.

Die erste Auflage der Leuchte „Way home“ ist ein 6 Meter langer Schlauch aus Maulbeerbaumpapier und Peddigrohr, in dem ein Band mit LEDs installiert ist. Auf der Oberfläche sind ca.1500 weiße Blättern verklebt. Dieses Lichtobjekt versinnbildlicht für die Künstlerin Setbyol Oh einen Weg, der zeigt, woher sie kommt und wohin sie geht. Der Weg ist variabel und kann in jeglicher Form oder einfach gerade ausgelegt werden.

„Way home“ ist Teil der Ausstellung IVORY, die von der Designgalerie hvíla editions veranstaltet wird. Gründerin Anita Hansen hat hierfür zwölf internationale Designer und Künstler eingeladen, die eine Reihe von Designobjekten mit unterschiedlicher Entstehungsgeschichte zeigen und alte Handwerkstechniken mit zeitgenössischer künstlerischer Sensibilität verbinden.

Teilnehmende Designer: Hana Karim (SL), hettler.tüllmann (D+US), Mapico (UA), nojin (D), nomad (D), oh-licht (D), Riccardo Masini (IT), Rita in Palma (D), Robert George (UK), Sasson Raifailov (US), Steven Haulenbeek (US), Veronika Beckh (D)

hvíla editions
mail@hvilaeditions.com

Location:

notre goût Konzeptgalerie Berlin
Bernauer Straße 8d
(access through Strelitzer Strasse 53)
10115 Berlin

Wann:

14/05/2022
14:00 —
16:00
Scroll up Drag View

Bleib auf dem Laufenden