VIA ARTORT.TV:

Ivan Kirchgaesser is a queer independent researcher and writer based in Berlin. In 2020, he received a PhD from Oxford Brookes University for his self-experiment in social sculpture. Asking how life can be lived as art, his work is interdisciplinary in the way that life is interdisciplinary. How can we conceive of our creative possibilities as well as our limitations? In what ways does transformation and change manifest in our everyday realities? And what role can education – formal and informal – play in this?

For the Berlin Design Week, Ivan will talk about his prize-winning project on Do-It-Yourself Learning Spaces. DIY Learning Spaces redefine what learning can look like, what desirable outcomes are, and what knowledge and capacities are needed in the world of today. Grounded in a sense of meaning and purpose, all are facilitated by individuals operating at the grassroots and in the cracks of the system. Can their work, however makeshift or curious it may appear at present, set an example for the future?

Read the interviews with DIY practitioners and more of Ivan’s work on his blog. www.artistsofsociety.com 


joined by:

Natyra Elezi Samuel Cho
With ‘Skin: be:neath/yond’ Natyra Elezi and Samuel Cho present their first joint project as a duo at D-Bü. The core of their work is the fusion of experimental ideas and sound worlds in a dynamic audiovisual performance. Influenced by creative coding, among other things, Natyra and Samuel search for the line between classical music, free improvisation and video art. Through constantly changing recombinations, they shed light on the question of what it means to be a performer in the technocratic 21st century.

“Skin:be[neath/yond]” is a multimedia, improvisational performance. It is the artistic expression of two technically skilled pianists who are searching for new ways of making music. With a piano, some synthesizers and a visual projection controlled by artificial intelligence, the duo juxtaposes the acoustic and the electric, the flow of improvisation and the false permanence of fixed composition, and the two senses of hearing and seeing.

natyraelezi@gmail.com

VIA ARTORT.TV:

Ivan Kirchgässer ist ein unabhängiger Queer-Forscher und Autor mit Sitz in Berlin. Im Jahr 2020 erhielt er einen Doktortitel von der Oxford Brookes University für sein Selbstexperiment zur sozialen Skulptur. Mit der Frage, wie das Leben als Kunst gelebt werden kann, ist seine Arbeit interdisziplinär, so wie das Leben interdisziplinär ist. Wie können wir unsere kreativen Möglichkeiten, aber auch unsere Grenzen begreifen? Auf welche Weise manifestieren sich Transformation und Veränderung in unseren alltäglichen Realitäten? Und welche Rolle kann Bildung – formell und informell – dabei spielen?

Auf der Berlin Design Week wird Ivan über sein preisgekröntes Projekt zu Do-It-Yourself Learning Spaces sprechen. DIY Learning Spaces definieren neu, wie Lernen aussehen kann, was wünschenswerte Ergebnisse sind und welches Wissen und welche Fähigkeiten in der heutigen Welt benötigt werden. Sie werden von Einzelpersonen betrieben, die an der Basis und in den Rissen des Systems tätig sind, und haben einen Sinn und Zweck. Kann ihre Arbeit, so behelfsmäßig oder kurios sie derzeit auch erscheinen mag, ein Beispiel für die Zukunft sein?

Lesen Sie die Interviews mit DIY-PraktikerInnen und mehr von Ivans Arbeit auf seinem Blog. www.artistsofsociety.com


begleitet von:

Mit ‚Skin: be:neath/yond‘ präsentieren Natyra Elezi und Samuel Cho bei D-Bü ihr erstes Gemeinschaftsprojekt als Duo. Kern ihres Schaffens ist die Fusion experimenteller Ideen und Klangwelten in einer dynamischen audiovisuellen Performance. Beeinflusst u.a. vom Creative Coding suchen Natyra und Samuel die Grenze zwischen klassischer Musik, freier Improvisation und Videokunst. Durch sich stetig wandelnde Rekombinationen beleuchten sie die Frage, was es bedeutet, im technokratischen 21. Jahrhundert Performer*in zu sein.

„Skin:be[neath/yond]“ ist eine multimediale, improvisatorische Performance. Es ist die künstlerische Ausdrucksform zweier technisch versierter Pianist*innen, die nach neuen Wegen des Musikmachens suchen. Mit einem Klavier, einigen Synthesizern und einer durch Künstliche Intelligenz gesteuerten visuellen Projektion stellt das Duo das Akustische und das Elektrische, den Fluss der Improvisation und die falsche Beständigkeit der festen Komposition sowie die beiden Sinne des Hörens und Sehens gegenüber.

natyraelezi@gmail.com