Tobias Hoffmann (* 1970 in Munich ) is a German art historian , curator and, since 2013, director of the Bröhan Museum in Berlin.

Tobias Hoffmann studied art history and philosophy at the Ludwig Maximilians University in Munich and received his doctorate in 2007 with a dissertation on Willi Baumeister’s work “The Unknown in Art” at the Academy of Fine Arts in Stuttgart.

After graduating, he first worked as a research assistant at the Neue Sammlung in Munich, then at the Museum for Concrete Art in Ingolstadt, which he headed from 2002 to 2012. During this time he realized numerous exhibitions on concrete art and design of the 20th century. In 2013 he was appointed director of the Bröhan Museum.

Since then, he has modernized the museum’s program and opened it up to exhibitions that combine the historical collection of Art Nouveau , Art Deco and paintings from the Berlin Secession with topics from art and design up to the present day. Exhibitions such as “Schrill Bizarr Brachial. New German Design of the 80s” (2014), “Do It Yourself Design” (2016) and “Kuss. From Rodin to Bob Dylan” (2017) are a result of this reorientation.

Braun 100 – The Talk

Luigi Colani und der Jugendstil

Tobias Hoffmann (* 1970 in München) ist ein deutscher Kunsthistoriker, Kurator und seit 2013 Direktor des Bröhan-Museums in Berlin.

Tobias Hoffmann studierte Kunstgeschichte und Philosophie an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München und wurde 2007 mit einer Dissertation über Willi Baumeisters Schrift „Das Unbekannte in der Kunst“ an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Stuttgart promoviert.

Nach seinem Studienabschluss arbeitete er zunächst als Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an der Neuen Sammlung in München, dann am Museum für Konkrete Kunst in Ingolstadt, das er von 2002 bis 2012 leitete. In dieser Zeit realisierte er zahlreiche Ausstellungen zur Konkreten Kunst und zum Designdes 20. Jahrhunderts. 2013 wurde er zum Direktor des Bröhan-Museums bestellt.

Seither modernisierte er das Programm des Museums und öffnete es für Ausstellungen, die den historischen Sammlungsbestand zu Jugendstil, Art déco und Gemälden der Berliner Secession mit Themen der Kunst und Gestaltung bis in die Gegenwart verbinden. Ausstellungen wie „Schrill Bizarr Brachial. Neues Deutsches Design der 80er Jahre“ (2014), „Do It Yourself Design“ (2016) und „Kuss. Von Rodin bis Bob Dylan“ (2017) sind ein Ergebnis dieser Neuausrichtung.

Braun 100 – The Talk

Luigi Colani und der Jugendstil