Gisela Baurmann, Dipl. Ing. Architektin MSAAD, is an award-winning architect who practices and teaches in Europe and the US. She is founding partner of the practice Büro NY with work realized in New York and Berlin. 

Her work employs cultural techniques as conceptual models of fabrication, and examines their topological traits and local rules for application in computational design.

She is a Visiting Associate Professor at Pratt Institute and Lecturer at the University of Pennsylvania and was chair of the department for Design and Building Design at the Technical University Berlin. She studied at Columbia University as a Fulbright Scholar, at the Architectural Association School of Architecture in London with a grant by the German Academic Exchange Service and at the Technical University in Berlin.

 

Baurmann has received design awards from the Empire State Development Corporation for her 9/11 memorial proposal, New York State Council on the Arts Grant, Competition placements from the van Alen Institute, RWTH University Aachen, the Honor Award for Excellence in Design, Columbia University and nominations for the PS1 Young Architects Program in 2003 and 2009. As project architect she designed and constructed a church and congregation hall in Frankfurt, Germany.

Her work has been published and exhibited internationally and her writing appeared in Detail, Bauwelt, the Cornell Journal of Architecture and Pidgin Magazine.

 

PROVOCATION

“The Hyperstitch” examines the feasibility of structures that are light weight and flexible, yet resilient. Drawing on cultural techniques in the fibre arts, it examines the geometric and spatial qualities of crochet fabrics through application of local rules that affect global tectonic properties and material effects. 

Crocheting activates a single line—the thread—to generate an elastic surface by moving around and through an empty core. The topology of a crocheted fabric is relatively complex: the thread describes an undulating path along each row, the loops of one row being pulled through the loops of the previous one. Unlike other functional materials, crocheted fabric encodes physical characteristics within the material during the fabrication process.

In crochet, it is possible to create a whole surface of multiple elements from one single thread. Crocheted fabric can specify local rules of increase and decrease, of temporary pause and subsequent pick up, thus enabling the fabric to be spliced open and to be reunited again later on. It can generate three-dimensional volumes through exponential unit growth, or by separating and subsequently braiding, crossing, and back-referencing its own materiality.

Releasing the technique of its limitations to the domestic realm, “The Hyperstitch” transposes this handcraft into the digital realm and aims to extrapolate the material into large scale architectural and engineering applications. Exchanging stiffness as an engineering criterion with the ductility and concurrent strength of the crocheted fabric permits the design of pliable infrastructures which may be used as a mediating entity to protect habitats in volatile environments

PRACTICE

 

Büro NY, New York, Berlin

Computational Crochet

Gisela Baurmann, Dipl. Ing. Architektin MSAAD, ist eine preisgekrönte Architektin, die in Europa und den USA praktiziert und lehrt. Sie ist Gründungspartnerin des Büros NY mit Arbeiten, die in New York und Berlin realisiert wurden.

In ihrer Arbeit setzt sie Kulturtechniken als konzeptionelle Modelle für die Herstellung ein und untersucht deren topologische Eigenschaften und lokale Regeln für die Anwendung im Computational Design.

Sie ist Visiting Associate Professor am Pratt Institute und Dozentin an der University of Pennsylvania und war Lehrstuhlinhaberin für Design und Gebäudegestaltung an der Technischen Universität Berlin. Sie studierte an der Columbia University als Fulbright-Stipendiatin, an der Architectural Association School of Architecture in London mit einem Stipendium des Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienstes und an der Technischen Universität Berlin.

Frau Baurmann erhielt Designpreise von der Empire State Development Corporation für ihren 9/11-Memorial-Vorschlag, einen New York State Council on the Arts Grant, Wettbewerbsplatzierungen des van Alen Instituts, der RWTH Aachen, den Honor Award for Excellence in Design, Columbia University und Nominierungen für das PS1 Young Architects Program in 2003 und 2009. Als Projektarchitektin entwarf und baute sie eine Kirche und ein Gemeindehaus in Frankfurt, Deutschland.

Ihre Arbeiten wurden international veröffentlicht und ausgestellt. Ihre Texte erschienen in Detail, Bauwelt, dem Cornell Journal of Architecture und dem Pidgin Magazine.

 

PROVOCATION

„The Hyperstitch“ untersucht die Machbarkeit von Strukturen, die leicht und flexibel, aber dennoch widerstandsfähig sind. Unter Rückgriff auf Kulturtechniken der Faserkunst werden die geometrischen und räumlichen Qualitäten von Häkelstoffen durch die Anwendung lokaler Regeln untersucht, die globale tektonische Eigenschaften und Materialeffekte beeinflussen.

Beim Häkeln wird eine einzelne Linie – der Faden – aktiviert, um eine elastische Oberfläche zu erzeugen, indem er sich um und durch einen leeren Kern bewegt. Die Topologie eines gehäkelten Stoffes ist relativ komplex: Der Faden beschreibt einen wellenförmigen Weg entlang jeder Reihe, wobei die Schlingen einer Reihe durch die Schlingen der vorherigen gezogen werden. Im Gegensatz zu anderen Funktionsmaterialien kodiert gehäkeltes Gewebe während des Herstellungsprozesses physikalische Eigenschaften innerhalb des Materials.

Beim Häkeln ist es möglich, aus einem einzigen Faden eine ganze Fläche mit mehreren Elementen zu erzeugen. Gehäkeltes Gewebe kann lokale Regeln des Zu- und Abnehmens, des vorübergehenden Innehaltens und des anschließenden Wiederaufnehmens festlegen, so dass das Gewebe aufgespalten und später wieder zusammengefügt werden kann. Es kann dreidimensionale Volumina durch exponentielles Wachstum der Einheiten erzeugen oder durch das Trennen und anschließende Flechten, Kreuzen und Zurückverweisen seiner eigenen Materialität.

„The Hyperstitch“ überträgt diese handwerkliche Technik in den digitalen Bereich und zielt darauf ab, das Material in großflächige architektonische und technische Anwendungen zu extrapolieren, indem es seine Grenzen im häuslichen Bereich aufhebt. Der Austausch von Steifigkeit als technisches Kriterium mit der Dehnbarkeit und gleichzeitigen Festigkeit des gehäkelten Stoffes ermöglicht das Design von biegsamen Infrastrukturen, die als vermittelnde Einheit zum Schutz von Lebensräumen in unbeständigen Umgebungen eingesetzt werden können.

PRACTICE

Büro NY, New York, Berlin

Computational Crochet