Lau Licciardi, 1983 

 

Originally from Melbourne Australia, Lau has spent the past 7 years in Berlin as a freelance artist, working in production and art installation. Their work has ranged from commissioned projects and builds to geometric sculptures, to art installations and set design and construction.

 

The 2005 apprenticeship at the Flying Anvil in the Blacksmith trade led on to studying furniture design at the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology. Over two years, Lau honed their craft in industrial wood/metal fabrication techniques, developing their own prototypes and designs. Since being in Berlin, Lau has been working closely with neon artist Olivia Steele and has become a specialist in neon installation. 

As a conceptual object designer, their interest lies in the manipulation of space, with their primary mediums being wood and metal. Lau predominately enjoys creating functional artisanal pieces – whether it be furniture, lighting, stage design, or contemporary art installations. With set design, Lau considers the bodies of the performers, how they interact with the space and objects, and how the set influences their action and movement. 

PROJECT: 

Stage design for “A Ballet of Slug and Shell” by Black Cracker and Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop  

The pieces were designed to be completely modular, so the manipulation of the elements and creation of the stage design becomes an integral part of the performance. The performers have autonomy in building their environment.

Lau Licciardi, 1983

 

Ursprünglich aus Melbourne Australien, hat Lau die letzten 7 Jahre in Berlin als freiberuflich Künstlerin verbracht und in Produktion und Kunstinstallation gearbeitet.  Ihre Arbeit reichte von Auftragsprojekten und Bauten über geometrische Skulpturen bis hin zu Kunstinstallationen und Bühnenbild und Bau.

 

Die Ausbildung 2005 beim Flying Anvil im Schmiedehandwerk führte zum Studium des Möbeldesigns am Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology.  Im Laufe von zwei Jahren verfeinerte Lau ihr Handwerk in industriellen Holz-/Metall Fertigungstechniken und entwickelte ihre eigenen Prototypen und Designs.  Seit ihrem Aufenthalt in Berlin arbeitet Lau eng mit der Neon-Künstlerin Olivia Steele zusammen und hat sich zu einer Spezialistin für Neon-Installationen entwickelt.

Als konzeptionelle Objektdesigner liegt ihr Interesse in der Manipulation des Raumes, wobei ihre Hauptmedien Holz und Metall sind. Lau schafft es vor allem, funktionale Handwerksstücke zu schaffen – sei es Möbel, Beleuchtung, Bühnenbild oder zeitgenössische Kunstinstallationen. Beim Bühnenbild betrachtet Lau die Körper der Darsteller, wie sie mit Raum und Objekten interagieren und wie das Bühnenbild ihre Aktion und Bewegung beeinflusst.

PROJEKT:

Bühnenbild für „A Ballet of Slug and Shell“ von Black Cracker und Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop

 Die Stücke wurden vollständig modular konzipiert, sodass die Manipulation der Elemente und die Erstellung des Bühnenbildes zu einem integralen Bestandteil der Aufführung werden.  Die Performer haben Autonomie in der Gestaltung ihrer Umgebung.