Lawrence Blough is Professor with Tenure at the Pratt Institute School of Architecture and Principal of GRAFTWORKS Design Research. In addition to being head of the core design sequence, he teaches advanced seminars on the theory of architectural program and contemporary collective typologies. He has also held teaching appointments at Washington University in St Louis, Tulane and Catholic University. Recipient of multiple awards for design research, Blough in collaboration with Simone Giostra has recently been funded by The Institute of Design and Construction Foundation to investigate the relationship between building form and energy to shape mid-rise housing typologies.  Blough’s other grants include The Structurist Fellowship, The New York State Council on the Arts Independent Projects Award and the Pratt Innovation Fund. His work has been widely published both in the US and abroad including in the book Matter, PLAT Journal, Space Magazine and The New York Times among others. 

PROVOCATION

For more than ten years, New York City has promoted energy efficiency policies that will radically reshape the education of architects toward energy performance in buildings and the reduction of emissions (GHG). Our series of undergraduate studios investigates the relationship between the building form and energy, using form-finding algorithms based on solar radiation to shape mid-rise housing typologies for NYC. Currently funded by the Institute of Design and Construction Foundation, Pratt and Polimi have been exploring the important environmental design opportunities that exist within building envelopes responsible for most of the GHGs and power consumption.  

 

Solar potential (or capture) as a design tool has been investigated beginning with Ralph Knowles’s “solar envelope” concept from 1974. Using rudimentary computers, Knowles was able to produce strangely beautiful building forms driven by performance.  Knowles’ solar-driven vessels were the harbingers of a new design aesthetic based on ecological inputs and necessity that is the departure point for our research.

Lawrence Blough ist Professor auf Lebenszeit an der Pratt Institute School of Architecture und Leiter von GRAFTWORKS Design Research. Neben der Leitung der Kerndesignsequenz unterrichtet er fortgeschrittene Seminare über die Theorie des architektonischen Programms und zeitgenössische kollektive Typologien. Er hatte außerdem Lehraufträge an der Washington University in St. Louis, Tulane und der Catholic University. Als mehrfacher Preisträger für Designforschung wurde Blough in Zusammenarbeit mit Simone Giostra kürzlich von der The Institute of Design and Construction Foundation gefördert, um die Beziehung zwischen Gebäudeform und Energie zu untersuchen, um mittelhohe Wohntypologien zu gestalten. Zu Bloughs weiteren Stipendien gehören The Structurist Fellowship, The New York State Council on the Arts Independent Projects Award und der Pratt Innovation Fund. Seine Arbeiten wurden sowohl in den USA als auch im Ausland veröffentlicht, unter anderem in dem Buch Matter, PLAT Journal, Space Magazine und der New York Times.

PROVOKATION

Seit mehr als zehn Jahren fördert New York City eine Energieeffizienzpolitik, die die Ausbildung von Architekten in Bezug auf die Energieleistung von Gebäuden und die Reduzierung von Emissionen (THG) radikal umgestalten wird. Unsere Reihe von Undergraduate-Studios untersucht die Beziehung zwischen der Gebäudeform und der Energie und verwendet Algorithmen zur Formfindung, die auf der Sonneneinstrahlung basieren, um mittelhohe Wohntypologien für NYC zu gestalten. Gegenwärtig werden Pratt und Polimi von der Institute of Design and Construction Foundation finanziert und erforschen die wichtigen Möglichkeiten des Umweltdesigns innerhalb von Gebäudehüllen, die für den größten Teil der Treibhausgase und des Energieverbrauchs verantwortlich sind.

Das Solarpotenzial (oder die Sonneneinstrahlung) als Designwerkzeug wurde beginnend mit Ralph Knowles‘ „Solar Envelope“-Konzept von 1974 untersucht. Mit rudimentären Computern war Knowles in der Lage, seltsam schöne, leistungsorientierte Gebäudeformen zu entwerfen. Knowles‘ solarbetriebene Schiffe waren die Vorboten einer neuen Designästhetik, die auf ökologischem Input und Notwendigkeit basiert und den Ausgangspunkt für unsere Forschung bildet.