The digital revolution is changing our world and environment at an increasing speed – the upheaval triggered by digital technology and computers has brought about change in almost all areas of life since the beginning of the 20th century. This upheaval also requires a reorientation or at least an expansion of the focus of creative disciplines in research and teaching: In addition to the trends of the digital revolution, such as the topics of big data, machine learning and artificial intelligence, designers will face further challenges in the future. The influence of the new media on our communication behavior, socialization processes and language culture or the expansion of our empirical environment through artificial parallel worlds, for example in the area of virtual or augmented reality, are examples of the new need for creative visions.

The exhibition shows a selection of outstanding interactive works and experiments by students of Communication Design at the University of Applied Science Berlin, who deal with these topics in a variety of ways.
A total of six experiments will be on display, presenting visitors with interfaces to the digital sphere.

The exhibition is curated by Moritz Schell, research assistant at the University of Applied Science Berlin, and Andreas Ingerl Professor of Digital Media in the Communication Design course at the University of Applied Science in cooperation with the Museum of Communication.

The exhibitions will take place in the historic buildings of the former AEG and the Kabelwerk Oberspree, now the Wilhelminenhof campus of the HTW Berlin, and will be open from 2 p.m. on 11 October

Die Digitale Revolution verändert in zunehmender Geschwindigkeit unsere (Um-)Welt — der durch Digitaltechnik und Computer ausgelöste Umbruch bewirkt seit Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts einen Wandel in nahezu allen Lebensbereichen. Dieser Umbruch erfordert auch eine Neuausrichtung, zumindest aber eine Erweiterung der Schwerpunkte gestalterischer Disziplinen in Forschung und Lehre: Neben den Trends der digitalen Revolution, wie beispielsweise den Themen Big Data, Maschinelles Lernen und künstlicher Intelligenz, sehen sich Gestalter/innen zukünftig noch weiteren Herausforderungen ausgesetzt. Der Einfluss der neuen Medien auf unser Kommunikationsverhalten, Sozialisationsprozesse und Sprachkultur oder die Erweiterung unserer physisch erfahrbaren Umwelt durch artifizielle Parallelwelten, etwa im Bereich der virtuellen oder erweiterten Realität sind Beispiele für den neuen Bedarf an gestalterischen Visionen.

Die Ausstellung zeigt eine Auswahl herausragender interaktiver Arbeiten und Experimente von Studierenden des Studiengangs Kommunikationsdesign der HTW-Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Berlin, die sich auf vielfältige Weise mit diesen Themen auseinandersetzen.
Zu sehen sind insgesamt sechs Experimente, die den Besucher/innen Schnittstellen zur digitalen Sphäre präsentieren.

Kuratiert wird die Ausstellung von Moritz Schell, wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an der HTW Berlin, und Andreas Ingerl Professor für Digitale Medien im Studiengang Kommunikationsdesign an der HTW in Kooperation mit dem Museum für Kommunikation.