Vucca Talks

Design Education + Technologie

Design Education and the increased deployment of technology are more than ever interconnected and become an integral part of how we interact with each other.

The intent of this round table is to introduce corporate experts, educational researchers and applied entrepreneurs to an international and design-minded audience and to discuss the discourse of how technology is shaping our design education pre- and post-COVID. 

Speakers:

* Andreas Hauser (SAP AppHaus)

* Thomas Weis (Bold Brains AG)

* Prof. Dr. Gudrun Socher (Muc.Dai)

* Dawn Ahukanna (IBM)

Design Education + Social Entrepreneurship

Navigating through a volatile, uncertain, complex period of time has caused a lot of disruptions and changes… external changes but also internal triggers are the effects and results of those self-reflections and the general pursue of purpose.

In this upcoming campfire session, we aim to explore the various opinions and accomplishments from partners of university, research, social entrepreneurship and cultural management and how pursuing a higher “purpose” will lead to a positive outcome professionally but also individually.

 

Speakers:

Anne Kjaer Bathel – Re.Di School

Audrey Leung – Macromedia University 

Lennart Schulz – Macromedia University 

Prof. Szasz – Macromedia University

Roberta Wagner – Anthouse Productions

Design Education + Architektur

Provocation – Intensifying Forms

Explores materials, fabrication, robotics, algorithms, and pioneering models of haptic and machine learning that challenge and enhance definitions of design processes and outcomes beyond the traditional boundaries of architecture, engineering, and manufacturing.

These diverse modes of thinking propagate latent matter into pedagogical, technological, ecological, and social agendas, intensifying architecture’s transformational impact on the world.

Form is the mediator of matter and thought that carries idea and outcome simultaneously shaping aesthetic surplus into social ideology and giving design political agency.

In the urgency of our current situation, we ask the question: How can and does form acquire agency? We believe it can and will demonstrate with a sampling of projects that exhibit formal and performative qualities through the employment of specific media.

The Pratt Institute New York – School of Architecture will showcase a selection of professional and academic work that establishes a mode of form-driven design that represents an ideological position.

Speakers:

* Prof. Gisela Baurmann – Environmental Mode

* Prof. Robert Lee Brackett – Material Mode

* Prof. Lawrence Blough – Technological Mode

* Prof. Abigail Coover Hume – Social Mode

* Jeffrey Anderson + Olivia Vien – Virtual Mode

* Prof. Dr. Harriet Harriss, Dekan der Fakultät Architektur

Scroll up Drag View

Design Education + Technologie

Design-Ausbildung und der verstärkte Einsatz von Technologie sind mehr denn je miteinander verbunden und werden zu einem integralen Bestandteil unserer Interaktion miteinander.

Die Absicht dieser Runde ist es, Unternehmens-, Bildungsexperten und angewandte Unternehmer einem internationalen und designaffinen Publikum vorzustellen und den Diskurs darüber zu führen, wie Technologie unsere Designausbildung vor und nach COVID prägt.

Sprecher:

* Andreas Hauser (SAP AppHaus)

* Thomas Weis (Bold Brains AG)

Prof. Dr. Gudrun Socher (Muc.Dai)

* Dawn Ahukanna (IBM)

Design Education + Social Entrepreneurship

Das Navigieren durch eine unbeständige, unsichere, komplexe Zeit hat viele Veränderungen verursacht… äußere Veränderungen, aber auch innere Auslöser sind die Auswirkungen und Ergebnisse dieser Serie zur Selbstreflexionen und der allgemeinen Frage nach Sinn und Zweck von Gestaltung.

In dieser kommenden Lagerfeuersitzung wollen wir die verschiedenen Meinungen und Errungenschaften von Partnern aus den Bereichen Universität, Forschung, soziales Unternehmertum und Kulturmanagement erforschen und wie die Verfolgung eines höheren „Sinns“ zu einem positiven Ergebnis beruflich, aber auch individuell führen wird.

 

Teilnehmer:

Anne Kjaer Bathel – Re.Di School

Audrey Leung – Macromedia University 

Lennart Schulz – Macromedia University 

Prof. Szasz – Macromedia University

Roberta Wagner – Anthouse Productions

 

Design Education + Architektur

Provokation – Die Intensivierung der Form

Erforscht Materialien, Fabrikation, Robotik, Algorithmen und bahnbrechende Modelle des haptischen und maschinellen Lernens, die Definitionen von Designprozessen und Ergebnisse über die traditionellen Grenzen von Architektur, Ingenieurwesen und Fertigung hinaus herausfordern und erweitern.

Diese vielfältigen Denkweisen übertragen latent vorhandene Sachverhalte in pädagogische, technologische, ökologische und soziale Agenden und verstärken den transformativen Einfluss der Architektur auf die Welt.

Form ist der Vermittler von Materie und Gedanken, der Idee und Ergebnis trägt und gleichzeitig den ästhetischen Überschuss in eine soziale Ideologie umwandelt und dem Design politische Handlungsfähigkeit verleiht.

In der Dringlichkeit unserer aktuellen Situation stellen wir die Frage:

Wie kann und will Form Handlungsfähigkeit erlangen?

Wir glauben, dass sie es kann und werden dies anhand einer Auswahl von Projekten demonstrieren, die durch den Einsatz bestimmter Medien formale und performative Qualitäten aufweisen.

Das Pratt Institute New York – School of Architecture wird bei dieser Präsentation eine Auswahl professioneller und akademischer Arbeiten zeigen, die einen Modus von formorientiertem Design etabliert und eine ideologische Position vertritt.

Referenten:

* Prof. Gisela Baurmann – Environmental Mode

* Prof. Robert Lee Brackett – Material Mode

* Prof. Lawrence Blough – Technological Mode

* Prof. Abigail Coover Hume – Social Mode

* Jeffrey Anderson + Olivia Vien – Virtual Mode

* Prof. Dr. Harriet Harriss, Dekan der Fakultät Architektur

Scroll up Drag View